The Paris Seamstress

Out Now

For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale comes a World War II novel that spans generations, crosses oceans, and proves just how much two young women are willing to sacrifice for love and family.

‘The Paris Seamstress is a gorgeously rich and romantic novel about young women finding their way in the world.’

Kate Forsyth, author of Bitter Greens

Australian/NZ Cover

UK Cover

 

North American cover

 

The Story

1940. Parisian seamstress Estella Bissette is forced to flee France as the Germans advance. She is bound for Manhattan with a few francs, one suitcase, her sewing machine and a dream: to have her own atelier.

2015. Australian curator Fabienne Bissette journeys to the annual Met Gala for an exhibition of her beloved grandmother’s work – one of the world’s leading designers of ready-to-wear. But as Fabienne learns more about her grandmother’s past, she uncovers a story of tragedy, heartbreak and secrets – and the sacrifices made for love.

Crossing generations, society’s boundaries and international turmoil, THE PARIS SEAMSTRESS is the beguiling, transporting story of the special relationship between a grandmother and her granddaughter as they attempt to heal the heartache of the past.

Critical Praise

  • ‘Lester deftly darts from Paris in 1941 to New York’ The Australian Women’s Weekly
  • ‘Lester brings bold, brave women to life’ Herald Sun
  • ‘A gorgeously rich and romantic novel about young women finding their way in the world.’ KATE FORSYTH
  • ‘This rich, memorable novel unfolds beautifully from start to finish.’ Publishers Weekly
  • ‘Fascinating and impeccably researched’ GILL PAUL
  • ‘A fantastically engrossing story. I love it. KELLY RIMMER
  • ‘Intrigue, heartbreak… I cannot tell you how much I loved this book’ RACHEL BURTON
  • One of the MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF THE YEAR – Publishers Weekly

See reviews from Goodreads.com

 

 

Buy the book

Select your region below

Australia & New Zealand
United Kingdom (UK)

The ebook of The Paris Seamstress is available now, with the paperback to follow on the 4th October, 2018.

North America

The Paris Seamstress is available now in the US. You can buy the book using the following links: